Skip to main content

Thought and Done: DASA Celebrates End-of-Year with Awards Ceremony

2019 DAS Awards for Excellence photo of presentation.

At a ceremony on May 1, 2019, the Division of Academic and Student Affairs recognized exemplary employees in several categories, including Pride of the Wolfpack, Awards for Excellence, Outstanding Teaching Award, and Wolfwalks awards.

Awards for Excellence

The NC State University Award for Excellence is the most prestigious honor awarded to non-faculty staff members in recognition of meritorious accomplishments, beyond one’s normal job responsibilities. Twelve staff members were nominated this year, and three were selected as award recipients.

Division of Academic and Student Affairs Awards for Excellence recipients (L to R): Travis Sills, Facilities; Brian Mathis, Leadership and Civic Engagement; Conor Brady, University Housing; James Jennings, Facilities


  • Connor Brady, University Housing
  • Lori Ghosal, Career Development Center
  • Mary Hauser, Gregg Museum
  • Durell Hurst, University Housing
  • James Jennings, Facilities
  • Brian Mathis, Leadership and Civic Engagement
  • Sharon Moore, NC State Live
  • Travis Sills, Facilities
  • John Starbuck, Marketing and Communications

* Award recipients are noted in bold.

Pride of the Wolfpack

The Pride of the Wolfpack Award recognizes individual employees for a special or unique contribution to their college, business unit, or NC State University. Through the generous sponsorship of the NC State Bookstore, recipients received a framed certificate and lapel pin exclusive to Pride of the Wolfpack Recipients.

Division of Academic and Student Affairs 2019 Pride of the Wolfpack award recipients.

Award Recipients

Stefanie Bostic, Student Health Services
Beth Buck, DASA HR
Jordan Brothers Cao, Gregg Museum of Art and Design
Will Craig, Wellness and Recreation
Glenda Darrell, Career Development Center
Bri Elum, University Housing
Alex Freedman, DASA Marketing and Communications
Mandy Geiger, University Housing
Anita George, Student Health Services
George Girgis, Facilities
Eric Hawkes, Wellness and Recreation
Adam Hubbard, ASPSA
Betsy Jereb, University Tutorial Center
Ross Joyner, DASA Marketing and Communications
Susannah Lawrence, Exploratory Studies
Scott Lee, Facilities
Kristen Lee, ASPSA
Mike Maxwell, Counseling Services
Kelly McConkey, Counseling Services
Charles McMillan, Facilities
Dylan Morris, University Housing
Gabriela Olivia, Counseling Services
Katrina Pawvluk, University Housing
Jazmin Perez, Student Health Services
John Resnick-Kahle, Exploratory Studies
Adam Sardinha, Wellness and Recreation
Rebecca Schwartz, Counseling Services
Josh Welch, Fraternity and Sorority Life
Emilie Wood, University Theatre
Erin Zanders, Music

Outstanding Teaching Awards

  • Kimberly Franklin Cole
  • Peggy Domingue
  • Tommy Holden
  • Thomas Koch
  • Gina Christine Riccobono

*Award recipient noted in bold.

Tommy Holden, DASA Outstanding Teacher of the Year 2019
Tommy Holden, Outstanding Teaching Award recipient.


Wolfwalks is an annual Division of Academic and Student Affairs exercise kick-start program designed to get employees in the division up and moving.

Top 5 Competitive Teams

  1. On the Hunt
  2. Kicking ASPSA Again…and Again
  3. Walking 9 to 5
  4. Leaders of the Track
  5. Full Speed Ahead!

Top Competitive Walkers

  • Kasey Harris from Walking 9 to 5 – 1.6M total steps
  • Nikki Glenos from Walking 9 to 5 – 1.56M total steps
  • Ross Joyner from Leaders of the Track – 1.5M total steps

Most Improved Walker

  • DJ Gardow
Division of Academic and Student Affairs end-of-year wrap up video.