Skip to main content

Caleb Drum Receives Alex Miller Outstanding University Scholar Award

Caleb Drum
Caleb Drum

Each year the staff of the University Scholars Program is honored to select a student to receive the Alex Miller Outstanding University Scholar award. The award is named after the former director of the University Scholars Program, Alex Miller, who led the program from its inception until his retirement in 2014.

The Alex Miller Outstanding University Scholar award recognizes a senior who best embodies the mission and spirit of the University Scholars Program.  Someone, who in the wise words of Thomas Huxley, puts knowledge into action.  Someone who has exhibited a significant commitment to the program, and most importantly, to its students. Someone who has had a real impact on the program and left it better.

In 2020, the University Scholars Program is delighted to bestow this honor upon Caleb Drum, a recent graduate from Hickory, N.C., who earned a degree in chemical engineering. During his time with the University Scholars Program, Drum was an active and engaged member of Scholars Council, serving as president for two years. He was also employed as a Scholars Forum assistant for three years. His infectious enthusiasm and excitement for the program was always a welcome addition to any event or group gathering. After graduation, he began working as a validation engineer with Design Group in the Raleigh-Durham area and hopes to return to NC State to obtain a Ph.D. in chemical engineering to later become a professor. The staff of the University Honors and Scholars Program wish him well on all his future endeavors and will miss seeing him around the office and at events.

Previous winners of the Alex Miller Outstanding University Scholar Award include:

  • 2018 – Mitchell Moravec
  • 2017 – Anna Leigh Shuping
  • 2016 – Emily Nguyn
  • 2015 – Kayleigh Jernigan
  • 2014 – Alex Eubanks