Skip to main content

University Honors and Scholars students receive Mathews Medals

NCSU Belltower.
NCSU Belltower.

The staff of the University Honors and Scholars Programs would like to extend a hearty congratulations to students in our programs who were recipients of this year’s Mathews Medals.

This year the following recipients were in the University Honors and Scholars Programs

  • Noah Riley (University Honors Program)
  • Jess Errico (University Scholars Program)
  • Adam Skrzeck (University Scholars Program)

The Mathews Medals, the highest non-academic distinction awarded to NC State students, is administered by the Alumni Association Student Ambassador Program and recognizes seniors who have made significant contributions to the university and created a lasting legacy.

The Mathews Medal is named after Walter J. Mathews, the first student to arrive on the campus of the North Carolina School of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts in October 1889. After graduation, the Buncombe County native had a career in construction, launching his own business in Goldsboro, where he served a term as mayor. When the Alumni Association Student Ambassadors launched this special student recognition, they chose Mathews because of his lifelong involvement with NC State. They also modeled the Mathews Medal after the Watauga Medal, an honor established by the NC State Board of Trustees and given annually at the Founders Day dinner to honor those who make significant contributions to the advancement of the university.

The Mathews Medal has been awarded since 2006. The award honors graduating seniors who have served NC State as student leaders. Each leaves NC State a better place because of his or her leadership.