Skip to main content

Two Students Named Goldwater Scholars

The Division of Academic and Student Affairs joins the Fellowship Advising Office in celebrating the successes of two NC State students who have recently been named recipients of the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship.

Christopher Cooper

Christopher Cooper is a junior studying chemical engineering and economics. Additionally, he is a Park Scholar and participant in the University Scholars Program. Cooper plans to pursue a Ph.D. in Chemical engineering. He hopes to become a professor at a top ranked university where he will research soft electronics and have the opportunity to share his knowledge with colleagues, students, and the greater community.

Research Mentors: Dr. Michael Dickey, Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (NC State University); Dr. Lisa Bullard, Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (NC State University); and Dr. Makarand Deo, Assistant Professor of Engineering (Norfolk State University).

Vishwas Rao

A junior majoring in chemistry and biochemistry, Vishwas Rao is also a Park Scholar and University Honors Program participant. He intends to pursue a Ph.D. focusing on the interface of chemistry and biology, with a goal of eventually managing his own research group and teaching at a research-intensive university.

Research Mentors: Dr. Gavin Williams, Associate Professor of Chemistry (NC State University); Dr. Matthew Bogyo, Professor of Chemistry (Stanford University); and Dr. Jeremiah Feducia, Teaching Assistant Professor of Chemistry (NC State University).

NC State also recognizes the achievements of Gautam Nagaraj who was awarded Honorable Mention for the Goldwater Scholarship. Nagaraj is a sophomore Park Scholar and University Scholars Program participant who is studying physics and mathematics. He plans to pursue a Ph.D. in astrophysics and conduct research about stellar or galactic evolution at a university or national lab. Nagaraj’s research mentors include: Dr. Stephen Reynolds, Professor of Physics; Dr. John Blondin, Professor of Physics, and Dr. Kate Scholberg, Professor of Physics (Duke University).
The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship is awarded to exceptional undergraduate students pursuing careers related to engineering, mathematics, or the natural sciences in their final one to two years of study. The scholarship funds (up to $7,500.00 annually) can be used for expenses related to tuition, fees, books, and room and board. To date, 49 NC State students have been named Goldwater Scholars.