Skip to main content

The State and Future of Higher Education Conference a Success

On Tuesday, May 9 the Division of Academic and Student Affairs’ Professional Development Committee hosted “The State and Future of Higher Education”, a professional development conference for faculty and staff highlighting trends, best practices, and challenges facing the profession.

The well-attended event featured a keynote address entitled “The Future of Higher Education” by Kevin Kruger, president of NASPA Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education. Kruger joined NASPA two decades ago and has served as president since 2012. He has more than 30 years of experience in higher ed, including orientation, student activities, leadership development, admissions, and student affairs. His professional interests range from the use of technology in serving diverse student populations to student learning and assessment.

Following the keynote presentation, attendees were invited to participate in any of six breakout sessions led by colleagues from across the division:

  • Black Men at Predominantly White Institutions – Curtis Jackson and Qwen Ballard
  • Technology/Communication – Leslie Dare
  • Mental Health Trends Nationally and at NC State – Monica Osburn
  • Supporting Student Activism: Fostering Resilience through Resistance – Renee Wells
  • Wolfpack Wellness and You – Stacy Connell and Shannon Dupree
  • Support for International Students – Thomas Greene and Hillary Patton

A panel led by Vice Chancellor and Dean Mike Mullen, Kruger, and the College of Education’s Dean Mary Ann Danowitz presented an opportunity for conference-goers to engage in productive conversations about the day’s topics. The event concluded with roundtable discussions centered around topics of career and degree exploration (Kala Bullett and TJ Willis); collaboration (Justine Hollingshead and Eric Hawkes); and assessment (Jordan Luzader).

Special thanks to the division’s Professional Development Committee for their diligent efforts to develop and implement the conference:

  • Bryan Botts
  • Patty Baynes
  • Stacy Connell
  • Jermisha Dodson
  • Chris Jefferson

Watch a panel discussion with Vice Chancellor and Dean Mike Mullen, NASPA president Kevin Kruger, College of Education Dean Mary Ann Danowitz, and moderated by Barry Olson: