NC State Student Media wins big at state-wide contest

NC State Student Media took home 23 North Carolina College Media Association 2018 contest awards, which were announced at the organization’s statewide conference on Saturday, Feb. 23.

Twenty students representing Agromeck, Nubian Message, Technician and Windhover, and three professional staff members attended the annual conference hosted at North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University in Greensboro. The group networked with peers from across the state and enjoyed training sessions, panel discussions, publication critiques and a keynote address from Alicia Bell of Free Press’s News Voices: North Carolina project. Technician Editor-in-Chief Jonathan Carter presented a session on covering student government with The A&T Register Editor Zila Sanchez, while advisers Martha Collins and Ellen Meder provided flash critiques for other publications.

NCCMA is a statewide organization with the goal of providing support and training for college media student staff members and advisers for both public and private institutions and is run out of the N.C. Scholastic Media Association offices in UNC-Chapel Hill’s School of Media and Journalism. The annual NCCMA conference is one of several professional development opportunities NC State Student Media offers all current staff members at no personal cost.

The full list of winning entries can be found on NCCMA’s website.

Agromeck: Best of Show Yearbook

  • 1st place Student Life Copy: Megan Wong for “Snow School”
  • 2nd place Student Life Copy: Katie Tart for “Make a Splash”
  • 3rd place Inside Spread: Ponni Theetharappan for “Snow School”
  • 1st place Sports Writing: Madison Earp for “Ruckin’ Rugby”
  • 2nd place Sports Writing: Kenton Gibbs for “Playing the Field”
  • 1st place Photography: Nick Faulkner for “City of Oaks Ablaze”
  • Honorable Mention Photography:Kaydee Gawlik for “Jeffery Morales and Reed”

Nubian Message: Best of Show Newspaper, Large School

Technician: Best of Show Online News, Large School


  • Honorable Mention Design: Clara May and Anna Schecterson for “Awake & Lost in Thought”