Skip to main content

Five NC State Advisors Honored at Awards Ceremony

Pictured, back row, from left: LeNelle Patrick and Elizabeth Wagner. Front row: Meggie Metcalf, Olgha Qaqish and Mary Kate Morgan Lanier.

NC State’s academic advising community recently gathered in Talley Student Union’s Coastal Ballroom to recognize advisors across campus for their exemplary work at the annual Undergraduate Academic Advising Awards Ceremony. 

Five individuals – Meggie Metcalf, Olgha Qaqish, Mary Kate Morgan Lanier, Elizabeth Wagner and LeNelle Patrick – received the University awards. 

Meggie Metcalf

Carrie McLean Award

Metcalf, the associate director of academic services in the Wilson College of Textiles, received the Carrie McLean Award as the outstanding advising administrator. Metcalf began her advising career at ECU before supporting students in Exploratory Studies and then Wilson College at NC State.  

A colleague shared the impact of Metcalf’s leadership, saying: “During our weekly advising team meetings, Meggie regularly encourages us to share both professional and personal wins, as well as any challenges we may be experiencing, and she’s always eager to celebrate our successes and support us through our struggles regardless of whether they’re work-related.”

Olgha Qaqish

New Faculty Advisor Award

Qaqish, the Engineering Grand Challenges Scholars Program director since December 2022, won the New Faculty Advisor Award. Qaqish collaborates with university and industry partners to support her scholars’ professional development. She is a mentor, advisor, engineering educator, researcher, author and patent holder. 

A Scholars Program student said, “Collaborating with Dr. Qaqish on curriculum design within the Grand Challenges Scholar Program, I refined technical skills, including study conduct, data analysis, and co-authoring a journal. Her constructive feedback, a blend of improvement suggestions and affirmations, shaped my growth.”

Mary Kate Morgan Lanier
Mary Kate Morgan Lanier

New Advisor Award

Lanier won the New Advisor Award for primary role advisors. Since June 2022, she has been an academic advisor to students in the Department of Agricultural and Human Sciences. She advises the Ambassador Team, which represents the department at various public events.  

One of the Ambassadors wrote: “She encourages her students to challenge themselves and experience everything they can at NC State. Sending words of encouragement through emails and highlighting your achievements during advising meetings are just some of the ways that she empowers students to do the best they can.”

Elizabeth Wagner

Faculty Advisor Award

Wagner, who teaches and advises Undergraduate Creative Writing Concentration students, received the Faculty Advisor Award. She earned a BA in the Liberal Arts from St. John’s College in Annapolis, Maryland, and an MA and PhD in English with a concentration in Creative Writing from the Center for Writers at the University of Southern Mississippi.

One of her advisees wrote, “You have reaffirmed my decision to pursue literature and writing. Moreover, you have been incredibly supportive and encouraging of my aspirations. I completely lucked out having an advisor so dedicated to making my experience exceptional.”

LeNelle Patrick

Barbara Soloman Award

Patrick, a master advisor in University Advising and Exploratory Studies, received the Barbara Soloman Award presented to the outstanding primary role advisor. In the past 26 years, she has worked in areas such as academic and career planning, teaching and academic coaching.

One advisee wrote, “She truly cared for me when I needed someone most, and I felt safe enough to express my emotions with her.  She made me feel seen and heard, and I knew that I could come to her if I had an issue. She definitely encouraged me to do well in my classes, however, she reminded me to have fun and take care of myself as well.”

Winners will represent NC State at an awards program presented annually by NACADA: The Global Community for Academic Advising.