Skip to main content

EcoVillage SPUDS Course Wins City of Raleigh Environmental Award

A course developed by the directors of NC State’s EcoVillage has earned an award in the City of Raleigh 2015 Environmental Awards.

The course, Sustainable Planning & Urban Development for EcoVillage, was created to complement the EcoVillage Sustainable Planning & Urban Development Sightseers (SPUDS) spring break trips. The SPUDS program gives EcoVillage students opportunities to expand their knowledge of sustainability practices being developed and implemented in cities outside of North Carolina.

The Sustainable Planning & Urban Development for EcoVillage course received an award in the Environmental Awareness category. Selection criteria for this category was based on quantifiable results that positively affect the environment, while displaying a demonstrated commitment to leadership or teaching others about the environment.

An awards ceremony will be held on Earth Day (Wednesday, April 22) from 6-9 PM at the NC Museum of Natural Sciences. Michael Tiemann, Vice President of Open Source Affairs for Red Hat, will be featured as keynote speaker. The event is open to the public.

EcoVillage Director Meghan Lobsinger and Assistant Director Bryan Botts will accept the award on behalf of the program. However, this was a collaborative effort, and the achievement is shared by students, faculty, and many others, including:

All EcoVillage support staff and faculty, including Operating Council members and those who helped to approve the SPUDS course as a University Studies Course Special Topic:

Dr. Barbara Kirby

Catherine Freeman

Kasey Harris

Susan Grant

Additional members of the DASA Courses & Curricula Committee

Sustainable Planning & Urban Development Sightseers (SPUDS) class & host city speakers and guests:

Mrs. Donna-Maria Harris

Ms. Leah Bamberger

Mr. Shaun O’Rourke

Dr. Adam Terando

Mr. J. B. Buxton

Mr. Eric Braun

Mr. Ken Bowers

Dr. George Hallowell

Mrs. Shawn Rosenmoss

Special recognition is due to the students who participated in both the Spring 2015 course and the SPUDS trips to Boston (2014) & San Francisco (2015). The SPUDS program would not exist without these willing and enthusiastic students.

SPUDS 2014: Boston Student Participants:

Adam Poltorak

Andrew Harrell

Austin Bowman

Brenna Hannapel

Brooke Ganser

Emma Blondin

Evan Houser

Michelle Kovacs

William Loeblich

SPUDS 2015: San Francisco Student Participants:

Andrew Harrell

Andrew Yeh

Austin Bowman

Benjamin Sterling

Daniel Marulanda

Gregory Sheets

Hannah Claire Veater

Maddison Hightower

William Casola