Skip to main content

Academic and Student Affairs Announces 2017 Staff Recognition Awards

At a ceremony on April 25, 2017, the Division of Academic and Student Affairs recognized exemplary employees in several categories, including Pride of the Wolfpack, Awards for Excellence, Outstanding Teaching Award, and Wolfwalks awards.

In addition, a special Patriot Award was bestowed upon associate vice chancellor Lisa Zapata from the Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve for her support of military and military-affiliated employees at NC State. The Patriot Award reflects the efforts made to support citizen warriors through a wide-range of measures including flexible schedules, time off prior to and after deployment, caring for families, and granting leaves of absence if needed.

Awards for Excellence

The NC State University Award for Excellence is the most prestigious honor awarded to non-faculty staff members in recognition of meritorious accomplishments, beyond one’s normal job responsibilities. Seventeen staff members were nominated this year, and three were selected as award recipients.


  • Dr. Chris Austin
  • Bryan Botts
  • Marina Cline
  • Veronica Cooley-Perry
  • Dianne Farley-Chiogna
  • Doug Flowers
  • Cameron Hill
  • David Jones
  • Deborah Jordan
  • Katherine Klinger
  • Dr. Kelly Laraway
  • Susan Lawhead
  • Dr. Monica Osburn
  • Marsha Pharr
  • Ashley Pinet
  • Meghan Teten
  • Martha Wicker

* Award recipients are noted in bold.

Pride of the Wolfpack

The Pride of the Wolfpack Award recognizes individual employees for a special or unique contribution to their college, business unit, or NC State University.

Award Recipients

  • Sarah Battle
  • Phillip Benson
  • Matt Carter
  • Kathy De Lillo
  • Jermisha Dodson
  • Shannon DuPree
  • Amy Kish
  • Kathy Laudate
  • Heather Lawson
  • Genna Martella
  • Jordan McMican
  • Dr. Rebecca Otto
  • Laura Parker
  • Stephanie Rubain
  • Adam Sardinha
  • Meghan Teten
  • Sarah Wild
  • Mary Yemma

Outstanding Teaching Awards

The Outstanding Teacher Award recognizes excellence in teaching at all levels. Recipients of the Outstanding Teacher Award become members of the Academy of Outstanding Teachers for as long as they remain at NC State.

  • Peter Koutroumpis, Department of Health and Exercise Studies
  • Karen (Kari) McCloud, Exploratory Studies
  • Jordan McMican, Exploratory Studies

*Award recipient noted in bold.


Wolfwalks is an annual Division of Academic and Student Affairs exercise kick-start program designed to get employees in the division up and moving.

Top 5 Competitive Teams

  1. Leaders of the Track; Average of 114,598 steps per week
  2. Less Talking, More Walking
  3. Kicking ASPSA
  4. Step Masters
  5. DASA La Vista, Baby

Top Competitive Walkers

  1. Veronica Cooley-Perry; 1,299,053 steps
  2. Marcy Bullock; 1,176,668 steps
  3. Stephany Dunstan; 1,163,751 steps

Most Improved Walker

  • Katie Sheridan Graham

#DASAFit Social Media Award

  • Leaders of the Track